All math teachers should take this class: How to Learn Math

6 Sep

This past summer I took the most enriching web-based class from Stanford’s Jo Boaler called How to Learn Math, for teachers and parents. It was so interesting, enlightening, and I recommend it for all math teachers. It is all about guiding students to adopt the growth mindset .vs. the fixed mindset, and how to help students improve in problem solving by presenting doable but challenging open-ended exercises.

She also offers a How to Learn Math, for students. I haven’t taken this but will, and then I will most likely have all my students take it too.

One Response to “All math teachers should take this class: How to Learn Math”

  1. Cleargrace September 9, 2014 at 8:04 pm #

    This was a real eye opener for me. It has definitely made me a better teacher!

Leave a Reply

