Geometry – Construction Projects

11 Apr

It’s that time of year again…when parents and administration tour the school and my room to see interesting, creative, and, hopefully, relevant projects completed by my students. I try to pick a project that by its nature will be unique for each student. This way it will make the room more fun to explore, and the students can learn from each other’s work.

This year in my Algebra 1 class we are currently doing geometry : constructions, transformations, and congruency. This is because the students are going into an integrated common core curriculum in high school and I am preparing them to skip freshman Integrated 1.  Anyway, for their open house project, I gave each student a unique design (given design) that they had to reproduce using constructions (only a compass and straightedge). I got the idea and designs from this pdf , Pretty Pictures for Construction, after searching the web for such projects (thanks Mr. Baroody).  Go to the end of the file to find the designs to give to the students. On a poster they needed to 1) write out the steps they used to construct it,  2) show the finished construction with the construction marks, and 3) create a clean finished copy without marks. They also were required to do this again with their own design. Here’s my one page set of Construction Project for the students. The students loved doing this project; they worked on it inside (2 days) and outside of class (a lot). Some used this online construction tool to help them figure out the construction method; this tool is super handy once you get the hang of it.

Here’s some of my students’ work (for this first one a particularly artistic student put a paintbrush in her compass to construct the eye):

2014-04-02 15.59.46 2014-04-02 15.59.56 2014-04-02 15.59.33 2014-04-02 15.59.24 2014-04-02 15.59.19

 

2 Responses to “Geometry – Construction Projects”

  1. Jessica April 5, 2016 at 12:28 pm #

    I love the idea for this project, but the link to the pdf is blocked on my school computer… Could you possibly email it to me?

    • pperfectsquares April 10, 2016 at 2:17 pm #

      Thanks for the feedback. The rubric (pdf) is very simple, but I can send it to you if you provide me with your email address. Thanks, Pam

Leave a Reply

