My students love jigsaw math puzzles

6 Oct

My 7th grade math intervention recently sharpened their fraction skills using this jigsaw puzzle from the wonderful nrich website; a website that I just learned about from the webinar on Problem-based Lessons and Tasks. My students loved solving the puzzle while working out the problems on their whiteboards. They didn’t finish the day they started, so unfortunately they had to start over the next day, but they were very eager to do so. They learned that  the same task is accomplished much faster the second time around 🙂 .  I am sold on these types of puzzles; my 8th grade algebra kids loved their simplifying algebraic expression puzzle so much also.

2013-10-02 13.31.24-modified 2013-10-02 13.31.09-modified

One Response to “My students love jigsaw math puzzles”

  1. mathybeagle October 13, 2013 at 10:28 am #

    This totally made my day! I love nrich and I think as an American teacher, I may have overlooked this resource in the past. It is one of the greatest collections of rich tasks organized in such a aesthetically pleasing way. I love to hear that other teachers are using it as well.

Leave a Reply

