Living the Dream

3 Sep

Just yesterday my mom again mentioned how even at 6 years old I wanted to be a teacher. Even so, it took me until I was 42 years old to do it.

I am an electrical engineer turn math teacher. For about 18 years I worked in Silicon Valley, designing integrated circuits and software. Aside from my first job at Texas Instruments, I worked at a couple of startups, including my own consulting business. You could say that engineering was very, very good to me. But throughout my career, I always had an eye towards teaching. It was one of those things that I felt that if I didn’t eventually teach kids (I taught plenty of engineers), I would have a regret in life.  So at 39 I quit my job, took 3 years off, and in addition to traveling, taking cooking lessons, doing stained glass, learning the piano, I went back to school and got my teaching credential. Some of my friends and colleagues thought I was crazy; others thought it was a courageous act like the CFO of the company I worked for,  who told me that his childhood dream was to be an architect and that it still pains him that he didn’t pursue it.

I am now in my 7th year of teaching math, and I absolutely love it.  I feel like I am doing what I am meant to do. My calling.

4 Responses to “Living the Dream”

  1. Jim P September 3, 2012 at 6:29 pm #

    Absolutely inspiring background! So many of us are honored to be loving the dream as well! I believe that to be truly good at this profession, we absolutely need to love what we do!

  2. Megan Hayes-Golding September 7, 2012 at 7:03 am #

    Congratulations on enjoying the switch! I’m also an engineer-turned-teacher. We bring something special to the job because of our experience. Oh, and we both know people think we’re crazy because we’re voluntarily locking ourselves in with teenagers to teach math. Who does that?!

    • Lea Ann Smith September 8, 2012 at 7:08 am #

      And here’s another engineer-turned-teacher. I’m 13 years into teaching high school math and I still love it. I certainly know people who are mystified about the whole “locking ourselves in with teenagers” thing, but I think teenagers are awesome!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. New Bloggers to Check Out « Megan Hayes-Golding - September 7, 2012

    […] Living The Dream […]

Leave a Reply

